Reading Tips + Recipe.

While I’m in school I don’t have a lot of spare time for fun reading between homework, extracurriculars, and trying to spend time with friends.  So I have a way of making sure I get in normal books in addition to everything else! I read while I walk to class, when I’m at the gym,  and in that wind-down period before I go to sleep. Mostly though I read while I cook since I’m fortunate enough to have an on campus apartment. So yesterday I was reading while I did some nice de-stressing baking, and I decided to post one of my favorite recipes so ya’ll can do the same.

White Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

1 Stick salted or unsalted butter (your choice) softened
1 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
3 Squares Baking White Chocolate (High Quality)
2(ish) tsp Vanilla Extract
1 1/2 Cups of All Purpose Flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 cup of Cold Milk

Makes 14 cupcakes.

Preheat Oven to 350

In a small bowl mix the flour, baking powder and salt. Then set it aside.

In a large bowl Cream the butter and sugar together, before adding in eggs one at a time. Then Chop the White Chocolate squares and microwave them till melted (it takes about 2 minutes depending on your microwave, but make sure you don’t burn them!) Stir the White Chocolate into the egg, butter and sugar mixture. Then stir in the vanilla extract. Now it’s time to stir in the flour mixture. Mix it into the butter mixture in parts, so you don’t overheat your mixer, or hurt your hand (if you’re old school). Then stir in the cold milk.

Bake for approximately 20 minutes, or till golden brown.

Cream Cheese Frosting
16oz Cream Cheese (two 8oz bricks, or one large brick)  softened
1 stick butter softened
2 1/2 cups confectioners sugar (sifted or unsifted)

Blend together Cream Cheese and Butter till creamy. Then blend in the 2 cups of confectioners sugar. Taste it, then if you don’t find it sweet enough add in the extra 1/2 a cup of sugar. To make the frosting look brilliant, put the frosting in a plastic bag and cut a hole in the corner and use that to frost. It’s the poor mans piping bag.

Let the cakes cool for about 30 minutes. Frost and Voila! You’re done.

I bet you’re wondering how I read while I baked this huh? Well, I prop my book against various kitchen things and bend it back super far so it stays on on page, or I read on my kindle. :]

Leave a Reply

