Happy Spring Break!

Well, at least happy spring break to me! In honor of my spring break, and my extensive travel plans, here are some awesome books to read while you are also on break, or just lazing about your house, or plain old procrastinating from doing something actually important (like I am right now).

So first off we have the marvelous Scott Westerfeld. Anything by him is a treat to read, but right now I’m partial to his Leviathan Series, which I reviewed last year, and also the Uglies Series. Which I havent reviewed but always reread on long flights. 

Then there’s the always awesome His Dark Materials Series by Phillip Pullman. Granted it’s a little dark, but there’s still that uplifting story of Lyra and her journey to love, and her mother’s journey to eventual redemption (I never did like her father). I also tend to overlook the sub-plot of atheism, because when I was 10 that was too complicated. I liked to focus on the daemons, and here is where I teach you a valuable lesson: Talking animals are awesome no matter how old you are.

I’m also partial to reading mysteries while on the road, and my favorites involve either sassy heroines with equally sassy cats, (but not talking cats that’s just odd) or recipe’s for pretty much anything. So it’s not strange at all that I love the Joanne Fluke series about Hannah Swensen, a baker who gets tangled up in murderous shenanigans in her hometown of Lake Eden Minnesota. The Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder is the first in the series, and a great read for traveling. 

Last, but not least by any means, is the Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins. If you’ve read it,vacation is a good time to read it again. If you haven’t well, if you have any sort of plane ride coming up you’ll devour them (but not in a literal sense, that might be bad for your health).

Well good luck on your journey, and May the odds be ever in your favor.

One Trackback to “Happy Spring Break!”

Leave a Reply

